Page 1 of 1

How to edit Spark Skill Tree?

Posted: Mon May 22, 2017 7:05 pm
by sirburton
Let's say for example I want to move/swap a skill, from the second line-third column to the third line-third column, what file and how should I edit it ?

Re: How to edit Spark Skill Tree?

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 12:56 am
by Tuhalu
XComClassData.ini

It's a simple data structure, so just swap the names of the perks you want to reposition.

Re: How to edit Spark Skill Tree?

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 11:20 am
by sirburton
Tuhalu wrote:XComClassData.ini

It's a simple data structure, so just swap the names of the perks you want to reposition.
well the file looks pretty messy to me, not easy to edit since I don't understand which are the starting and the ending points of each string concerning each skill

Re: How to edit Spark Skill Tree?

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 11:40 am
by Tuhalu

Code: Select all

; LPCL
+SoldierRanks=(  aAbilityTree=( (AbilityName="AdaptiveAim",				ApplyToWeaponSlot=eInvSlot_SecondaryWeapon), \\
								(AbilityName="BodyShield"				), \\
								(AbilityName="CombatAwareness"			) \\
							),	\\
All you need to do is move the entire section that starts with (AbiliityName=" and ends with a ). That's one entry in the skill table. For instance (AbilityName="AdaptiveAim", ApplyToWeaponSlot=eInvSlot_SecondaryWeapon) should be moved as one skill item. The order the entries are in at each rank is from left to right, making AdaptiveAim appear in the left column. The list is comma separated, so make sure you keep the commas between entries as they are.

Re: How to edit Spark Skill Tree?

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 11:47 am
by sirburton
Tuhalu wrote:

Code: Select all

; LPCL
+SoldierRanks=(  aAbilityTree=( (AbilityName="AdaptiveAim",				ApplyToWeaponSlot=eInvSlot_SecondaryWeapon), \\
								(AbilityName="BodyShield"				), \\
								(AbilityName="CombatAwareness"			) \\
							),	\\
All you need to do is move the entire section that starts with (AbiliityName=" and ends with a ). That's one entry in the skill table. For instance (AbilityName="AdaptiveAim", ApplyToWeaponSlot=eInvSlot_SecondaryWeapon) should be moved as one skill item. The order the entries are in at each rank is from left to right, making AdaptiveAim appear in the left column. The list is comma separated, so make sure you keep the commas between entries as they are.
ok thx I'll see if it works

Re: How to edit Spark Skill Tree?

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 12:12 pm
by sirburton
What about those pieces of code saying
aStatProgression=((StatType=eStat_Offense,StatAmount=2), (StatType=eStat_HP,StatAmount=0), (StatType=eStat_Strength,StatAmount=0), (StatType=eStat_Hacking,StatAmount=5), (StatType=eStat_CombatSims,StatAmount=0))

Is this part of the string I should move or should I leave it as it is ?

Ok I've made some changes, but once I loaded the game the skill tree was just like it was before my changes.... weird
Maybe this won't affect already existing campaigns ?

Re: How to edit Spark Skill Tree?

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 1:05 pm
by Tuhalu
Those are just the stat increases you get at rank up, so you can ignore them.

Changing that config file works for me. Make sure you exit XCOM2 and then start it up again. It looks like config files are only read when loading the game, not when loading a save file.

Re: How to edit Spark Skill Tree?

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 4:35 pm
by sirburton
Tuhalu wrote:Those are just the stat increases you get at rank up, so you can ignore them.

Changing that config file works for me. Make sure you exit XCOM2 and then start it up again. It looks like config files are only read when loading the game, not when loading a save file.
ok now it's working, dunno why it didnt at the first attempt

Re: How to edit Spark Skill Tree?

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 6:51 pm
by sirburton
Probably a silly question, but
does this skill tree editing in the middle of an existing campaing have any chance of bugging or messing with my soldiers' stats and else ?

Re: How to edit Spark Skill Tree?

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 11:10 pm
by Tuhalu
Changing the skill order should have no effect. LW2 has already done the same thing in 2 patches with rejiggering their skill trees.